Audaces fortuna juvat

Working towards my dream

Self-Deception?

Posted by C Moon on January 7, 2008

Human brain seems to be self-deceiving.

After reading a blog post from Zero Divides, a math blog administered by a college student, I had some time to think of the deceptiveness of memory. The part that provoked my thoughts reads as follows:

…, while I may struggle for hours, or days, with a certain theorem, as soon as I know for sure that I’ve proved it, it immediately seems trivially easy. If anything was hard, it was undoubtedly my head, for not noticing this elegant solution sooner.

Well, I often heard that memory and time combined make even the most terrible hardship a “beautiful” recollection. I also read a study reporting how a leading question can “forge” an eyewitness’ testimony, I, who is interested in criminal justice, am worried about the future of the field. Maybe as Gil Grissom said in CSI-Las Vegas, we should “Concentrate on what cannot lie. The evidence…”

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Photo Credits: “The Median Vacuum Semiotics” by jef safi on Flickr

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –
Technorati Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
