Audaces fortuna juvat

Working towards my dream

Theodicy II — The Words of God

Posted by C Moon on December 7, 2007

As I’ve mentioned in my earlier Theodicy post, I am not a Christian and thus do not know much about Christian God. (Though I do not deny His existence, I am not ready to choose a religion.) I have thought that though God is “good,” religion may not fully represent the ideals. The clash between Christianity and Islamic beliefs still causes numerous deaths. Each side tries to enforce its own beliefs to the other side. Thus, though I am not opposing to any form of gods, including God, Allah, or Buddha, I do not have concrete interest in a specific religion.

Recently, reading Paradise Lost, I get to question whether God is actually the “good.” Since I do not know much about God, I cannot reach a definite conclusion on whether God is originally indifferent to humanity, or God depicted in Paradise Lost is Milton’s unique interpretation. Thus, I am doing some research.

The authoritative source in getting the Words of God is definitely the Bible, since other sources may not fully reflect God’s perspective. The followings are some of the quotes that I’ve discovered while surfing the internet.

Blessed are the peacemakers. – Matthew 5:9
Think not that I am come to send peace on earth, I come not to send peace but a sword. – Matthew 10:34

Whosoever shall smite thee on thy right cheek, turn to him the other also. – Matthew 5:39
Suppose ye that I come to give peace on earth? I will tell you nay, but rather division. – Luke 12:51

All that take the sword shall perish with the sword. – Matthew 26:52
He that hath no sword, let him sell his garments and buy one. – Luke 22:36

Love thine enemies; do good to them that hate you. – Luke 6:27
And when he had made a scourge of small cords, he drove them out of the temple … and poured out the changer’s money and overthrew the tables. – John 2:15

Reading through the quotes above, don’t you feel that something is weird? Each of “blessed,” “good,” and “merciful” statements is followed by a directly contradicting statement. The renowned quote “Whosoever shall smite thee on thy right cheek, turn to him the other also,” is immediately contradicted by another line “Suppose ye that I come to give peace on earth? I will tell you nay, but rather division.” If the words of the Bible are not consistent, which words should one follow? I found a post that seems to agree with the generally held opinion. But still, my effort to understand the exact nature of God will continue.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Photo Credits: “Take it Easy. God is in Control” by sgs_1019 on Flickr

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –
Technorati Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
