Audaces fortuna juvat

Working towards my dream

How about the Declaration of Independence from Routine?

Posted by C Moon on December 7, 2007

I hold this truth to be self-evident: that every person is endowed with the right to choose whatever one wants to do. Routine, which requires that one get up every day no later than some pre-specified time, which demands that one be somewhere at or before certain hour, and which orders that one complete assignments as instructed, wears one down not only physically but also mentally. Repetition of the same routine day after day without the end in sight, one loses the motive and the will to work and becomes dull about what one is doing. One is simply “doing” what one is supposed to do. Worst of all, one eventually loses interest in oneself. One becomes a machine! Not a human any more!

As a human being, one must not be governed by what one is supposed to do. Rather one must toil and moil for what one would like to do. Therefore, I solemnly declare independence from routine. For the support of this declaration, I pledge to myself my life, my time, my fortune, and my sacred honor.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Photo Credits: “Life routine – act 2” by José Encarnação on Flickr

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –
Technorati Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “How about the Declaration of Independence from Routine?”

  1. […] reading Catherine’s post titled, “How about the Declaration of Independence from Routine?” I began to imagine a horrible scene of humans becoming like machines, and machines becoming like […]

  2. […] reading Catherine’s post on “How about the Declaration of Independence from Routine?” I found myself thinking of what kind of a “routine” I lived in. I was quite […]

  3. […] my classmate Catherine Moon’s post, How about the Declaration of Independence from Routine? I found myself nodding along as I have been feeling the same way. As a human being, one must not be […]

Leave a Reply

 
