Audaces fortuna juvat

Working towards my dream

“I don’t know how I’m going to feed myself.” – R. J. Bollard

Posted by C Moon on September 26, 2007

Today, I received my first newsletter from NY Times, and I was utterly at a loss.

Because I wish to learn from the words of the others, I asked NY Times to mail me a newsletter containing both the daily news and the “Quotation of the Day.” Surely, for the latter, I was expecting quotes comparable to Michelangelo’s or Franklin’s.

The first quote arrived to me was “I don’t know how I’m going to feed myself” by R. J. Bollard. I tried to grasp the hidden meaning behind that simple line.

“Hmm… ‘I don’t know how I’m going to feed myself.’? Maybe… maybe he’s talking about the uncertainty of the future, meaning ‘I am doing this today, but I may not do this tomorrow. I may change my interest, or whatever.’ ” However, the little explanation that followed really struck me. I was totally mistaken. The explanation reads, “A freshman at the University of Washington, who said he had 73 cents left after buying the video game Halo 3.”

Is it a satire on the society? Did the NY Times put this as “Quotation of the Day” to criticize the youth’s rash spending habit? I am not sure of its intention, and am looking forward to the next “Quotation of the Day” on the NY Times. Considering the esteem of the NY Times, isn’t it puzzling at the least?

PS: Maybe life shouldn’t be too serious, after all!

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Photo Credit: “2/365 ‘HALO 3!'” by jimmyjosh on Flickr

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Technorati Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
